Texas Senior Care and Housing Directory
Texas Senior Care and Housing Directory

Texas Area Agency on Aging Locations

Texas Area Agency on Aging (AAA)

Contact your local AAA by calling


Elder Options of Texas IS NOT affilated with the Area Agency on Aging. We are providing the following for informational purposes only.

What is the Texas Association of Area Agencies on Aging?

Established in 1976, the Texas Association of Area Agencies on Aging (T4A) is the statewide network of local area agencies on aging dedicated to understanding and supporting the needs of adults over 60 and their caregivers. T4A provides a forum for collaboration, training, and outreach across the state.

There are 28 area agencies on aging (AAA) provide services to help people age 60 and older, their family members and caregivers receive the information and assistance they need in locating and accessing community services.

Services include:

  • Information, referral and assistance

  • Benefits counseling and legal assistance

  • Care coordination

  • Caregiver support services

  • In-home care and support services

  • Legal awareness

  • Nutrition services

  • Ombudsman Program

Services are targeted to those with greatest economic and social need.
Particular attention is paid to people with low-incomes, older people who belong to minority groups, and older people residing in rural areas.

In addition, family members and other caregivers may receive information and services on behalf of the older person for whom they are providing care.

Texas Area Agencies on Aging

Alamo Area
- Counties served: Atascosa, Bandera, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, McMullen, Medina, and Wilson.

ARK-TEX - Counties served: Bowie, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Hopkins, Lamar, Morris, Red River, and Titus.

Bexar County
- Serves the City of San Antonio and Bexar County. For services in the rural counties outside of Bexar County, visit the Alamo Area Agency on Aging.

Brazos Valley Region - Counties served: Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Leon, Madison, Robertson, and Washington.

Capital Area - Counties served: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis, and Williamson.

Central Texas - Counties served: Bell, Coryell, Hamilton, Lampasas, Milam, Mills, and San Saba.

Coastal Bend - Counties served: Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, and San Patricio.

Concho Valley - Counties served: Coke, Concho, Crockett, Irion, Kimble, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Reagan, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton, and Tom Green.

Dallas County - Counties served: Dallas.

Area Agency on Aging of East Texas - Counties Served: Anderson, Camp, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Marion, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Upshur, Van Zandt, Wood.

Golden Crescent - Counties served: Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Gonzales, Jackson, Lavaca, and Victoria.

Heart of Texas - Counties served: Bosque, Falls, Freestone, Hill, Limestone, and McLennan.

Harris County Area Agency on Aging - Part of a nationwide network of agencies coordinating supporting services for adults 60 years or older and their caregivers.

Lower Rio Grande Valley -  Counties served: Cameron, Hidalgo, and Willacy.

North Central Texas - Counties served: Collin, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, and Wise.

North Texas - Counties served: Archer, Baylor, Clay, Cottle, Foard, Hardeman, Jack, Montague, Wichita, Wilbarger, and Young.

Panhandle - Counties served: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, and Wheeler.

Permian Basin - Counties served: Andrews, Borden, Crane, Dawson, Ector, Gaines, Glasscock, Howard, Loving, Martin, Midland, Pecos, Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Ward, and Winkler.

Rio Grande - Counties served: Brewster, Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, and Presidio.

South East Texas - Counties served: Hardin, Jefferson, and Orange.

South Plains - Counties served: Bailey, Cochran, Crosby, Dickens, Floyd, Garza, Hale, Hockley, King, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Motley, Terry, and Yoakum.

South Texas - Counties served: Jim Hogg, Starr, Webb, and Zapata.

Tarrant County - County served: Tarrant

Texoma - Counties served: Cooke, Fannin, and Grayson.

West Central Texas
- Counties served: Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche, Eastland, Fisher, Haskell, Jones, Kent, Knox, Mitchell, Nolan, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, and Throckmorton.

DISCLAIMER: Links to other websites or references to products, services or publications do not imply the endorsement or approval of such websites, products, services or publications by Elder Options of Texas. The determination of the need for senior care services and the choice of a facility is an extremely important decision. Please make your own independent investigation.